I’ve had a s**t day……

In the words of Pink…I’ve had a s**t day, (NO!)
Have you had a shit day? (NO!), we’ve had a shit day (NO!)

This song was playing on the radio when I arrived at work this morning…..it was stuck in my head, like those annoying catchy songs that stay there all day, but little did I realise that it would hold so much truth for me!

It was like Piccadilly Circus this morning – from the moment I walked through the door at work, until the moment that I left!

On arrival I was bombarded with boys who wanted to put their ingredients in the fridge ready for their practical lesson later on – great if they actually knew which ingredients needed to go in the fridge and which ones didn’t! Then there was several students who had forgotten ingredients and homework who had just come down to let me know. I took this all in my stride, but so far I had been at work for 30 minutes and achieved nothing, nada, zilch!

When the trail of boys had finally finished, I got on with setting up my room for my mornings lesson. In come my class, I take the register and collect in homework…..out of a class of 20 boys, 8 had not done their work and had no good reason as to why. Just  “I haven’t done it”. When asked why, their response ” I don’t know”. Great, so that’s a load of admin –  recording on our internal system that it hasn’t been done, and my lunch hour spent with the boys trying to extract some homework out of them. Could it get any worse?

Well, yes!

I’ve had a s**t day, (NO!)
Have you had a shit day? (NO!), we’ve had a shit day (NO!)

GCSE practical lesson next! 3 boys absent from the lesson, one with no ingredients! Oh well, at least the rest are prepared and ready to cook. Noooooooo they are not – 3 have no recipe and no idea how to make their chosen products, one has a recipe but everything is in ounces and he doesn’t know how to convert it and when I explained, he couldn’t be bothered to do the maths, so just kept on asking what quantities he needed! Our theme for this week was cooking with sauces – they had made 4 different types in the last lesson, and yet I had fruit scones, chocolate brownies x 2 and muffins. Thank goodness for the spaghetti bolognaise and shortbread with chocolate dipping sauce – at least that was a little reassurance that I had asked them to cook something that included a sauce!

The rest of the day seemed to be going quite smoothly. It was very busy – marking, planning, making a birthday cake for a member of staff who is fifty tomorrow……. and then it was lunch time! And off we go again…..half the boys that should of turned up to a detention did not come, so that was another load of admin and emails to rearrange the detention for another day this week, this time after school. Nothing cheers me up more on a Monday than to know that on Wednesday I won’t be able to get on with what I need to do because I am chasing boys for homework.

And if that wasn’t enough, I knew that I was going home to a pile of ironing tonight and more marking and planning. Not only that, but I have open evening tomorrow – I have to cook tomorrows’ tea tonight and sort out my DD’s uniform for her club, plus arrange for someone to take her and bring her home! I have done reading with daughter, helped my son with his homework, and have had such an all round s**t day, that I wanted to sit and blog and just give myself a few minutes to relax. But even that is not going to happen….. as I sit here typing, my OH is calling down the stairs. After upgrading to ios 6 his texts aren’t working, he is not receiving emails and he has no wi-fi!

Heaven help me……I new that song this morning was a bad omen! I think that the best thing that I can do is take myself off to bed, and hope for a better day tomorrow!

I hope your day has been better than mine……..

*goes away singing*

I’ve had a s**t day, (NO!)
Have you had a shit day? (NO!), we’ve had a shit day (NO!)

Leave a Reply

